So with an upcoming new addition of Warhammer 40K coming about with some great looking new models its inspired me to go back and attempt to work on my marine force.

The big issue I had last time with these models was getting the black to look good. I know people do this with edge highlights but its not a way I enjoyed painting so tried something different. I base in a dark grey then dry brushed a light grey followed by a black contrast, it was nice quick and easy and I’m happy with the results.

With the black looking fine to my eye it allowed me to get some extra colours on to brrak the model up a bit, followed by some white and lots of script / symbols.

I needed a unit symbol so picked a scythe as these guys have close range multi fire weapons hence “scytheing” down their foes seem to fit.

With this test model finished it time to start on the rest of the squad, that are not holding knives is such an odd pose.

6 thoughts on “A Scythe for the Emperor

Leave a comment