So tomorrow I’d going across to Leodis Games in Leeds to take part in “Battle in the Crimson Snow” for a 1 day tournament for A Song of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones), I’ve been to this place twice before for the Tourmates run by Thomas and Paul and they have been excellent and really friendly so very much looking forward to it. However I wanted to take some new models to such and even and as such I have been painting like a trooper!

First off are 3 new hero’s for my Nights Watch force, Alliser Thorne (sword and dagger model) the master at arms that really has a dislike for Jon and Sam, Othell Yarwyck (2 hammers with white hair) this is the 1st builder in charge of looking after the wall and all the nice war machines on it, and Qhorin Halfhand (Sword) a well renowned Ranger. I only got this the other week for my Birthday (big thanks to my little lad!) but mannged to get them painted up and I’m fairly happy with the results!

But that is not all I’ve been working on, in one of the lists I really fancied having 2 units of Sworn Brothers the sort of basic Nights Watch unit that are actually rather nasty heavy infantry, the first unit was the first full night watch unit I ever did so really wanted to try out another. The painting went smother than before, I ‘ve got the hang of different shades of black more now! The units is 12 models and comes with 3 posses and 4 models of each pose. So I simply moved the different shades of blacks around the identical models and swapped hair, skin, eye and leather gear colour around a bit and you end up with a nice varied unit!

But that is not all! This tournament requires you to bring 2 lists that area different, so I fancied a full (or as near as I could) ranger list, so that meant I needed to paint my Ranger light cavalry unit armed with hand weapons, this is 4 models all unique posses and really nice models all around. Again different shades of black and I changed the colour of the horses as well.

I was really pleased that I had managed to get all these models done in relatively short order, and hopefully this has full smashed away the painting block I had been feeling recently. I should also say hopefully I’ll be on WordPress a bit more both posting and reading others blogs, I always find when I’m in a painting slum I struggle to keep up with all the great blogs I follow, so hopefully I’ll be back reading some of that soon as well. So with all the models done it was time to get everything out and checked on the table before the games tomorrow, so I had to take a quick picture! And my none combat board is also ready to take to the field (well or just next to it really but you know!)

I must say I was happy when I got all this out, the standard (although far from perfect) I felt was nice for table top and the army full army has the right feel to it for me. As I said above, Paul and Thomas really want to make the games more fun, so they have put in the rule that you bring 2 armies, you have to use both at least once each and each force can not have any of the same named hero’s! So I’ve tried as much as possible to build 2 completly different lists as I felt this is what they where trying for with this rule. And I managed it, only 1 single unit is in both lists. My first force is a holding force lead by Jeor Mormont 997th Lord Commander, in some Veterans, who else would the Lord Commander fight with! 2 units of Sworn brothers one led by Alliser Thorne, a blot thrower and 3 high officers of the Nights Watch, the Head Steward, 1st Builder and Maester of Castle Black. So 3 nasty blocks of infantry with war machine and lots of support on the none combat board, I’m assuming a somewhat static fight it out list.

My second list I went all mobility with a near as possible full Ranger list (the Nights watch champs that travel north of the wall), with 2 units of fast Cav, an unit of foot rangers and Benjen Stark leading some Veterans of the Watch witch become Ranger because he is with them! The only none ranger unit I have is a Watch Marshal on horse who I think is mobile enough to keep up and fit in thematically. None combat board I have Qhorin Halfhand the Unwavering Ranger so that was nice, and Craster who lives North of the wall, so I reckon that works as well. I’m hoping this force will be really nice and mobile and feel more like an old WoodElf army from Warhammer.

I will attempt to get some photos of the event and write something up, hopefully get some picture of other peoples forces as well!

15 thoughts on “Army Assemble

  1. Crikey, you have been busy! 🙂 All look really good – that can be difficult with units with a lot of black on them, but I think you’ve done really well with these! Good idea having two armies to take along and I’ll look forward to reading about how you got on!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Its good to see that you’re still collecting and painting GoT minis! I hope the tournament goes well too. Watch out for that bloke Craster though, he’s a no good git if there ever was one! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment