I’ve been continuing to work on my Alpha Legion for Epic, this time with some Heavy tanks in the form of a box of Kratos Heavy tanks. Stuck to my now standard paint method for these, spray silver, wash dark blue, contrast blue on the panels making sure I leave some bits the sliver, then bits of black on the guns, brown contrast over the silver to give a bronze look on the engine parts and dabs of Red for lenses.

I went for the auto cannon option for the main turret as it look great to my eye, who does not like a massive gun. I also added lascanon as the extra weapons, making this unit great at taking out enemy armor from afar. I also had a little play with the top hatch, one I did closed (clearly a sensible crew!) one I did with a Legionare manning a storm bolter (heavy machine gun) which is standard on the sprue, he did however end up leading a bit to one side due to some poor quality gluing from me but when I realized (once the glue was dry of course) I sort of like it, as if he is trying to dodge an incoming shoot, so left it. I also did 2 small conversions, I had a spare commander and banner carrier from my infantry sprue, as simple chop off of the lower legs and glue onto the open hatch in the sprue and I had a command squad for my heavy tanks!
I felt that this was fitting as the game uses “formations” which is a collection of “detachments” so these heavy tanks are going to lead my “Legion Armoured Company” formation, which is a collection of 1 detachment of heavy tanks (these) and 2 detachments for normal tanks, my Predators (on the right below) and Sicarn tanks (on the left below).

And that brings me to having all my models I own painted for this force! A tank formation and an infantry formation (with flying transport) and a Titan as support!

So with a fully painted force there was only 1 thing to do, finally get this game on the table top with 3 others from the local gaming club, in a great 2 v 2 game at 3000 points per side (my army was the smallest at 1200!) I teamed up with the World Eaters Legion and fought against the Space Marines and Imperial Guard. This was a really fun game although 3000 points for a new game was too big for a club night, and everything was painted on all side which was great. And Tim the Imperial Guard player had also painted an absolutely amazing gaming board which really made the game come to life and such fun to play on. Here are some pics I snapped after set up and during the game.

16 thoughts on “The Big Guns for a Big Battle

      1. All done. Honestly, my eyes can cope, they’re fine from 3ft as per my standard paint jobs. Nowhere near as good as yours. Also got the colours reversed on the rhino’s (first things I painted). Forgot mostly dark shiny red with a bit of black, but went with black with bit of shiny red. So just calling them commandeered Dark Angels transport as we’re all Chaos together…

        Liked by 2 people

  1. Great work on the tanks, mate! The army really looks with the heavy support there. Those are some great looking pictures from your game as well. Its always nice to take a victory lap and get a completed force out for a game 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment